Nourishing the Beloved Community: Our Pledge Drive and Year-long Stewardship Project Theme.

Isaiah 58 (RSV)

6 “Is not this the fast that I choose:

to loose the bonds of wickedness,

to undo the thongs of the yoke,

to let the oppressed go free,

and to break every yoke?

7 Is it not to share your bread with the hungry,

and bring the homeless poor into your house;

when you see the naked, to cover him,

and not to hide yourself from your own flesh?

8 Then shall your light break forth like the dawn,

and your healing shall spring up speedily;

your righteousness shall go before you,

the glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard.

This year’s Stewardship Project and Pledge Drive theme is “Nourishing the Beloved Community.”  The Ministry of Stewardship chose this theme in collaboration with our rector, staff, and vestry. It resonates with our congregation’s work on the “Beloved Community” of Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. Nourishment of the spirit repeatedly emerged in our small group discussions as an important component of St. John’s power. “Nourishing…the Community” has a connotation of being both internally focused and externally impactful. Beloved Community, of course, encompasses everything we care about at St. John’s. Our nourishment of what we care about is our constant goal. We will use this theme throughout the year to remind us of our common call to ministry.

You may not have heard of The Ministry of Stewardship (MOS). It was established earlier this year and aims to transition St. John’s to a year-round stewardship-as-ministry project. Instead of discussing “stewardship” in the fall, we plan to talk about the Pledge Drive. For the rest of the year The Ministry of Stewardship will highlight how we as a community function in our role as stewards of the earth, our church building, our staff and rector, and as our part in the Beloved Community. Expect to hear from The Ministry of Stewardship throughout this coming year. We will highlight the marvelous and holy work in which our community is involved.

Mike Walters, Chair
Lisa Wiens-Heinsohn
Laura Meister
Kari Rusch-Curl